top of page

Everything you need to know about RCOG?

- The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RCOG) works to improve health care for women everywhere, by setting standards for clinical practice, providing doctors with training and lifelong learning, and advocating for women’s health care worldwide

The correct name of this certificate is the membership of the Royal College but it's famous in Egypt and the Arab countries as the fellowship

What is the Membership's Value?

  • - The MRCOG is an essential part of the UK's internship program. All trainees in the UK must pass the exam. It is also an internationally respected certificate and the golden standard for career advancement.

  • The MRCOG certificate in Egypt is equalized by the Supreme Council of Universities with a master's degree and lacks the need to discuss the research thesis

  • Awarded the degree of specialist in Egypt and Arab countries

  • Holders of the fellowship are registered in the General Council of Physicians in England - GMC in the condition that you get the IELTS or recently OET

  • After the first part of the fellowship and 4 years of experience, the two-year training course in England is sponsored by the Royal College.

  • The fellowship is accepted as a complimentary certificate in the CV to apply for employment in Canada and Australia on the condition that you pass the exams for practicing the profession

How to become a Member of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists?

- MRCOG certificate is obtained after passing 3 exams :

Part 1 MRCOG Exam

Part 2 MRCOG- Written Exam & OSCE Exam

Part 3 MRCOG Exam


Part 1 MRCOG Exam

- is a written exam in the basic and clinical sciences relevant to O & G

Entry requirements for Part 1 MRCOG Exam?

- Only get a graduation certificate

Part 1 MRCOG Syllabus: includes the following topics

  1. Module 1: Clinical skills

  2. Module 3: Information technology, clinical governance, and research

  3. Module 5: Core surgical skills

  4. Module 6: Postoperative care

  5. Module 7: Surgical procedures

  6. Module 8: Antenatal care

  7. Module 9: Maternal medicine

  8. Module 10: Management of labor

  9. Module 11: Management of delivery

  10. (Module 12: Postpartum problems (the puerperium

  11. Module 13: Gynecological problems

  12. Module 14: Subfertility

  13. Module 15: Sexual and reproductive health

  14. Module 16: Early pregnancy care

  15. Module 17: Gynecological Oncology

  16. Module 18: Urogynaecology and pelvic floor problems


Part 1 MRCOG Exam Format

- The first part exam is a theoretical exam consisting of two papers containing 100 questions, the best answer from multiple in two and a half hours per paper

- 200 Single Best Answer questions "SBAs" in 2 Papers in total 5 Hrs

Part 1 MRCOG Exam Dates

- The exam takes place twice a year in 31/30 January and 1 July

- Registration is open before the re-examination of about 4 months for about one month and therefore take into account the speed of the decision to register the increasing number of applicants in Egypt, and thus places become limited

Part 1 MRCOG Exam Fees

- £ 427 in Egypt

Part 1 MRCOG Overseas Exam Centers

London, Manchester, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Belfast, and Dublin. Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia and Sudan Bangladesh, China, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Pakistan, and Nigeria

How to Apply for Part 1 MRCOG

- Certificate of graduation in English or the original copy in Arabic with a translated copy in an accredited translation center - Application form for the examination from the British Fellowship website

- Application Form soft copy

- The RCOG number


Part 1 MRCOG Sample Questions


Number of attempts for Part 1 MRCOG Exam

- The examiner will be given 6 tests and within 7 years of success in the first part, the exam should be submitted for the second part

Frequently Asked Questions for Part 1 - Part 1 MRCOG FAQs


153 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page